History/Philosophy of Science Medal - The Royal Society of NSW

The Royal Society of New South Wales History and Philosophy of Science Medal

The Royal Society of NSW History and Philosophy of Science Medal was established in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in the History and Philosophy of Science. It was first awarded in 2014.

Persons nominated will have made a significant contribution to the understanding of the history and philosophy of science, with preference being given to the study of ideas, institutions and individuals of significance to the practice of the natural sciences in Australia. Entries may be made by nomination or direct submission.

All entries should be accompanied by a full curriculum vitae and include a one-page statement setting out the case for award. In the case of nominations, the agreement of the nominee must be obtained by the nominator before submission and included with the entry. The winner will be expected to submit an unpublished essay, drawing on recent work, which will be considered for publication in the Society’s Journal and Proceedings during the following year.

Entries for 2017 close on 30 September 2017, and they should be sent to the Awards Committee at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The medal will be presented at the Society's Annual Dinner.

The Royal Society of New South Wales History and Philosophy of Science Medal 2016

Dr. Roy MacLeod was awarded the History and Philosophy of Science Medal for 2016. Dr. MacLeod is Emeritus Professor, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry, University of Sydney.

Dr. MacLeod is an historian of science focusing on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. In the course of his career he has opened new fields of enquiry including: history of British imperial science, history of science in Australasia and the Pacific, Museum studies, and the development of science policy. He also co-founded the international journal Social Studies of Science.

Year     Medalist

2014    Ann Moyal

2015    Prorfessor Warwick Anderson

2016    Professor Roy MacLeod



Keep in touch

Follow us on Facebook for the latest
news & events


Nominate a scholar

Nominations for the Society’s awards close on 30 September each year.

For instructions for an award nomination, click on its name in the drop-down menu under "Awards" above.

Site by ezerus.com.au

Privacy policy  |  Links to other societies

All rights reserved; copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.