

1320th ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING Wednesday 17 April at 6:30pm

METCALFE AUDITORIUM, STATE LIBRARY OF NSW (enter from main Library entrance)

The 1320th Ordinary General Meeting of the Royal Society of NSW will take place at approximately **6:30 pm on Wednesday 17 February 2024**, immediately after the 157th Annual General Meeting (scheduled to commence at 6:00 pm) in the Metcalfe Auditorium, State Library of NSW, followed by an open lecture. Registration and refreshments will be available in the anteroom to the theatre from 5:30 pm.

AGENDA

- 1. WELCOME President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN
- 2. MINUTES

Minutes of the 1319th Ordinary General Meeting will be reviewed.

3. CONFIRMATION OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP
At its meeting 20 March 2024, the Council, upon recommendation of the Fellows and
Members Assessment Committee, resolved to propose the following candidates for
admission as Fellows and Members.

FELLOWSHIP

Professor Alan Davison

Laudation – Alan Davison is a leading international scholar in cultural history of the long nineteenth century, especially the intersection of music and visual culture.

Professor Michael Blumenstein

Laudation – Michael Blumenstein has made an international contribution to the field of Artificial Intelligence.

Professor Peter Philip Gray

Laudation - Peter Gray has made a substantial contribution to the field of biotechnology.

Professor Christopher Alan Armstrong

Laudation – Christopher Armstrong has made a substantial contribution to higher education and government policy.

Professor Chennupati Jagadish

Laudation – Chennupati Jagadish has made pioneering contributions to semiconductor optoelectronics and nanotechnology and has provided leadership at the broadest level nationally and internationally.

Professor Trevor Colin Brown

Laudation – Trevor Brown is a leading researcher and teacher in physical and industrial chemistry, having made major contributions to university management and governance.

Professor David Christopher Currow

Laudation – David Currow has made significant contributions to cancer research and the field of palliative care.

Dr Sarah Jones

Laudation – Sarah Jones is a historian and active researcher including in the fields of Higher Education administration and innovation.

Professor Victoria Katharine Haskins

Laudation – Victoria Haskins has made an international contribution to history through the study of gender and colonisation.

Professor Andrew Baker

Laudation – Andrew Baker has contributed significant research on water, cave science, and geochemistry.

Professor Lyria Kay Bennett Moses

Laudation – Lyria Bennett Moses is a pioneer in research on the relationship between law and technological change.

Professor Robert John King

Laudation – Robert King has made significant contributions to the fields of phycology, marine botany, ecology and higher education.

Professor Stuart James Khan

Laudation – Stuart Khan is an internationally recognised expert on water quality and treatment research.

Professor Clement Tien-Hui Loy

Laudation – Clement Loy has made a substantial contribution to clinical research and policy development.

MEMBERSHIP

Professor Philip Michael Hansbro

Felicity Nelson

Dr John James Byrne Timmins

Christopher Michael Finn

Sarah Christina Bartlett

Associate Professor Christopher Stephen Paschal McErlean

Dr Michael Alexander de Percy

Dr Hugh Douglas Goold

Nicholas John Meagher

Dr Vafa Darren Ghazavi

Dr Shakeel Ahmed Ibne Mahmood

ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP

Jennifer (Jeny) Broughton Baume

4. PRESENTATION OF FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATES

The President will present certificates to new Fellows whose nomination was tabled at the previous OGM or who were unable to attend previously to receive their certificate.

FELLOWSHIP

Prof Sarah Brough

Prof Min Chen

Prof Les Copeland

Prof Peter Keegan

Prof Francesco Marino

Mr John McDonald

Dr James Renwick

Prof Graham Town

Dr Peter Wells

Dr Robyn Williams

5. REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President will update membership on the master planning process and will outline the key activities planned for 2024.

6. QUESTIONS

7. OPEN LECTURE

"Putting the 'Civil' Back in Civil Society"

A conversation with Professor Kristy Muir and Professor Peter Shergold

Emeritus Professor Peter Shergold AC FRSN FASSA Former Chancellor, Western Sydney University

and

Professor Kristy Muir Chief Executive Officer, Paul Ramsey Foundation

A generation ago, it seemed that democracy was a given. No longer.

Democratic governance appears fragile, under the threat from authoritarianism, xenophobia and populism. Trust in political leaders is wavering, thanks to the rise of Al and the increasingly powerful role of social media as a primary news source. In Australia, as elsewhere, public discourse seems riven by increasing social divisiveness and political discord. What's going wrong? Who or what is to blame? What can be done to restore a truly civil society?

Kristy Muir and Peter Shergold will argue across a contested terrain.

Kristy and Peter previously worked together at the Centre for Social Impact, Kristy as CEO and Peter as Chair.

About the speakers

Professor Peter Shergold AC FRSN is an Australian academic, company director and former public servant. Between February 2003 and February 2008, as Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Peter was the most senior official in the Australian Public Service. He was the Chancellor of Western Sydney University from 2011 through 2022.

Currently, Peter is Vice President of the Royal Society of NSW.

Professor Kristy Muir is Chief Executive Officer of the Paul Ramsay Foundation. She is also a Professor of Social Policy at UNSW Sydney Business School and Chair of Allan & Gill Gray Philanthropy Australasia. She has worked for more than three decades as a support worker, academic, collaborator, leader, funder and board director with for-purpose organisations that enable children, families, and communities to thrive.

She is a seasoned keynote speaker and internationally recognised leader. She has published widely and has delivered her insights on governance for social impact to hundreds of non-executive directors and CEOs through formal executive education programs. She founded the AGSM Governance for Social Impact course and the Social Impact Leadership Australia program which she currently teaches to for-purpose CEOs.

Kristy has undertaken more than 100 social impact projects with partners across sectors, including governments, not-for-profits, corporates, social enterprises, academics, and philanthropists. Many of these projects were designed to work alongside families and communities, and they spanned housing, education, employment, social participation, disability, mental health, financial resilience, wellbeing, and the social purpose sector.

Kristy was CEO of the Centre for Social Impact (2017-21), served as an elected academic member of UNSW's Council (2016-2021), and was a non-executive Director of the Community Council of Australia and the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Young People (ARACY). She has a PhD in social history and is a graduate of executive education at Harvard Business School and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

- 9. VOTE OF THANKS
- 10. CLOSE President

Dr Donald Hector AM FRSN

Secretary