# 1331<sup>st</sup> Ordinary General Meeting of the Royal Society of NSW

Minutes

The 1331st Ordinary General Meeting of the Royal Society of NSW took place at 6:00 pm on Wednesday 7 May 2025 via Zoom webinar, followed by an open lecture. There were approximately 30 Members, Fellows and guests online.

## 1. WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

OCIETY

NEW SOUTH WALES

The President, Em. Prof Christina Slade FRSN presided at the meeting. She welcomed members and guests.

## 2. MINUTES OF THE 1330<sup>th</sup> ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the 1330th Ordinary General Meeting were reviewed and approved. There were no matters arising.

## 3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

The Fellows and Members Assessment Committee meets between Council meetings and makes recommendations to Council for the election of Fellows and Members. These are circulated to Councillors prior to the Council meeting, with sufficient time for Councillors to assess the nominations. If no valid objections are received from Councillors, they are proposed to Society members for consideration at the next OGM.

At this meeting, the Council proposed the following candidates for admission to the Society:

## **FELLOWSHIP**

## Professor Roger Dean

Laudation – Roger Dean has made a substantial contribution to higher education and music.

## **Professor Fariba Dehghani**

*Laudation* – Fariba Dehghani has an international reputation in bioengineering for her pioneering work on medical devices, diagnostics and food technology.

## **Professor Chris Dixon**

*Laudation* – Chris Dixon has made a significant contribution to higher education and American history.

## **Professor Brian Falzon**

*Laudation* – Brian Falzon has made a substantial contribution to higher education and is internationally recognised for his work on advanced composite materials and aerospace structures.

#### **Professor Nicholas Fisher**

*Laudation* – Nicholas Fisher has made a substantial contribution to the field of statistical methods, notably new approaches to the analysis of multivariate geochemical data.

## Professor Simon Haines

*Laudation* – Simon Haines has made a substantial contribution to higher education and the humanities.

#### Professor Omid Kavehei

*Laudation* – Omid Kavehei has made a significant contribution to microsystems design, notably around their application to medical implants, computing and defence.

## **Professor Margot Kearns**

*Laudation* – Margot Kearns has made a significant contribution to higher education notably in the fields of nursing and molecular biology.

## **Steven Patterson**

*Laudation* – Steven Patterson has made a substantial contribution to the arts through his work on the development of ethical and sustainable artists' materials.

## Dr Susan Rothwell

Laudation – Susan Rothwell has made a significant contribution to architecture and the arts.

## **Professor Susan Rowland**

*Laudation* – Susan Rowland has made a substantial contribution to higher education and has and international reputation in science education.

## **Dr Keith Shortridge**

*Laudation* – Keith Shortridge has made a significant contribution to astronomy, notably in the area of astronomical software.

#### **Professor Yansong Shen**

*Laudation* – Yansong Shen has made a significant contribution to engineering notably in multiphase flow modelling and simulation, and process metallurgy.

#### Professor Hazel Smith

*Laudation* – Hazel Smith has made a substantial contribution to literature as an academic and poet.

#### **Richard Travers**

*Laudation* – Richard Travers has made a substantial contribution to Australian history and the law.

#### Professor Jakelin Troy

*Laudation* – Jakelin Troy has made a substantial international contribution to the recognition of Indigenous languages in education systems.

#### Professor Jean Yee Hwa Yang

*Laudation* – Jean Yee Hwa Yang has an international reputation in the field of statistical bioinformatics.

## **MEMBERSHIP**

- Dr James Bond
- Professor Mary-Louise (Lou) Conway
- Dr Kate Croaker
- Jodie Haigh
- Luke Hallett
- Professor Michael Meylan
- Ashley Overhill
- Denis Smith
- Professor Kim Usher
- Associate Professor Gal Winter

## ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP

Harrison Barrett

## 4. REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President reported that the Memorandum of Understanding with the Royal Society of Arts has been signed. She also confirmed the Chairs of the five working groups under the *Securing the Society's Future* initiative:

Membership Engagement – Em. Prof. Sean Brawley FRSN Activities with Impact – Em. Prof. Christina Slade FRSN Effective Communication – Dr Sarah Jones FRSN Future Fund – Medy Hassan OAM FRSN Operational Excellence – Em. Prof. Lindsay Botten FRSN

# 5. OPEN LECTURE

# "Rethinking Mobility in a Changing Climate" Scientia Professor Jane McAdam AO FASSA FAAL

Faculty of Law & Justice UNSW Sydney

Every second, someone is displaced by a disaster. Each year, many more people are displaced internally by disasters than by conflict – the vast majority in the Asia-Pacific region. Climate change will amplify the problem as worsening cyclones, floods, bushfires, droughts and food insecurity force millions from their homes, potentially rendering some areas permanently unsafe. Most people will move within their own countries, including through evacuations, but some may be displaced across borders. Some may not be able to move at all; yet others may be displaced multiple times. When it comes to legal and policy responses to climate mobility, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. While the challenges of addressing climate change and disasters are immense, much can be done to alleviate displacement and its human costs – if we act now. This address will examine how law and policy is responding to the challenge of climate mobility at a time when every region of the world is being impacted by more frequent and intense disasters. What do affected communities want? How could greater preparedness lead to greater protection? How can migration itself be a form of adaptation to climate change?

## About the speaker

**Professor Jane McAdam AO** is Scientia Professor of Law, Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow and the Founding Director of the Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law at UNSW Sydney, where she leads the Evacuations Research Hub. She is a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and the Australian Academy of Law, and an Honorary Associate of Oxford's Refugee Studies Centre. Professor McAdam publishes widely on international refugee law and forced migration, with a particular focus on evacuations and mobility in the context of climate change and disasters. Her legal analysis has been adopted by courts, governments and UN bodies, and her work has been highly influential in the development of international, regional and national policy frameworks. Professor McAdam serves on multiple international committees and was joint Editor-in-Chief of the *International Journal of Refugee Law* (2014–24). In 2021, she was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) 'for distinguished service to international refugee law, particularly to climate change and the displacement of people'. She won the Australian Human Rights Commission's Law Award in 2022 and was the inaugural winner.

# 6. VOTE OF THANKS

A vote of thanks was given by Em. Prof Christina Slade FRSN.

# 7. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

# 8. CLOSE

The President closed the meeting at 7:30 pm.

The minutes were recorded by the Secretary, Em. Prof Trevor Brown FRSN.

Signed as a true record Em. Prof Christina Slade FRSN President