Royal Society of NSW Scholarships - The Royal Society of NSW

Royal Society of NSW Scholarships

The Royal Society of New South Wales has a long tradition of encouraging and supporting scientific research and leading intellectual life in the State.  The Council of the Royal Society has established the Royal Society of New South Wales Scholarships in order to acknowledge outstanding achievements by young researchers.

Applications for Royal Society of New South Wales Scholarships are sought from candidates working in a science-related field within New South Wales or the Australian Capital Territory.  There is no restriction with respect to field of study and up to three Scholarships will be awarded each year.  Applicants must be Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia.  Applicants must be enrolled as research students at a University in NSW or the ACT.

There is no application form, but your application should include a statement of the significance of your project, an abstract of your work (about 500 words) and a brief curriculum vitae, including details of your undergraduate study and any professional experience.  Be sure to enclose a list of your publications.  A statement of support from your supervisor, confirming details of your candidature must be included.  The applications will be considered by a selection committee appointed by the Council of the Society and the decision will be made before the end of November  The decision of the committee is final.  The scholarships will be awarded on merit.

The award consists of a certificate acknowledging your achievement, a $500 prize and a complimentary year of membership of the Society.  The winners will be expected to submit a paper to the Society's Journal and to deliver a short presentation of their work at the general meeting of the Society in February of the following year.  The awards will be presented at this meeting.

Applications close 30 September of each year and should be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Year   Recipients
1999   Alison Basden, Sharon Downes
2000   Louise van der Weyden, William Higgs
2008   Gerard Kaiko
2009   Isa Chan, Tamara Keeley, Danielle Sulikowski
2010   Lidia Matesic, Dennis Black, Kerensa McElroy
2011   Andre Kyme, Amelia Edington, Benjamin Parker, Martin Fuechsle
2012   Jendi Kepple, Anwen Krause-Heuer, Helen Margherita Smith, Andrew Ong*
2013   Jiangbo Zhao, John Chan, Jessica Stanley, Xavier Zambrana-Puyalto*
2014   Melanie Laird, Stephen Parker, Ruth Wells, Linh Tran*
2015   Adrian Dudek, Charles Forster, Yevgeny Stadnik, Charles Colless*
2016   Jeremy Chan, Andrew Ritchie, Isobel Ronai

*also recipient of the Jak Kelly Award, presented in conjunction with the Australian Institute of Physics

Keep in touch

Follow us on Facebook for the latest
news & events


Nominate a scholar

Nominations for the Society’s awards close on 30 September each year.

For instructions for an award nomination, click on its name in the drop-down menu under "Awards" above.

Site by

Privacy policy  |  Links to other societies

All rights reserved; copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.