Jak Kelly Award - The Royal Society of NSW

The Jak Kelly Award

The Jak Kelly Award was created in honour of Professor Jak Kelly (1928 - 2012), who was Head of Physics at University of NSW from 1985 to 1989, was made an Honorary Professor of University of Sydney in 2004, and was President of the Royal Society of NSW in 2005 and 2006.  Its purpose is to encourage excellence in postgraduate research in physics.  It is supported by the Royal Society of NSW and the Australian Institute of Physics, NSW branch.  The winner is selected from a short list of candidates who made presentations at the most recent Australian Institute of Physics, NSW branch postgraduate awards.

More details of Professor Kelly's life can be found here.

Jak Kelly Award 2018

The winner of the Jak Kelly Award for 2018 is Anita Petzler from Macquarie University. Her research investigates the use of hydroxyl as a tracer of diffuse molecular gas to complete our understanding of the mechanisms of star formation.


Winners of the Jak Kelly Award

2010: Julian King (University of NSW)
2011: Martin Fuechsle (University of NSW)
2012: Andrew Ong (University of NSW)
2013: Xavier Zambrana-Puylato (Macquarie University)
2014: Linh Tran (University of Wollongong)
2015: James Colless (University of Sydney)
2016: Matthew Barr (University of Newcastle)
2017: Moritz Merklein (University of Sydney)
2018: Anita Petzler (Macquarie University.)


Keep in touch

Follow us on Facebook for the latest
news & events


Nominate a scholar

Nominations for the Society’s awards close on 30 September each year.

For instructions for an award nomination, click on its name in the drop-down menu under "Awards" above.

Site by ezerus.com.au

Privacy policy  |  Links to other societies

All rights reserved; copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.