The Pollock Memorial Lectureship

The Pollock Memorial Lectureship has been awarded approximately every four years since 1949 and is sponsored by the University of Sydney and the Society in memory of Professor J.A. Pollock, Professor of Physics at the University of Sydney (1899-1922) and a member of the Society for 35 years.

Pollock Memorial Lectureship 2021

Geraint LewisThe Pollock Memorial Lectureship for 2021 has been awarded to Professor Geraint Lewis FRSN FLSW, Professor of Astrophysics in the Sydney Institute for Astrophysics in the School of Physics of the University of Sydney. An outstanding researcher, Professor Lewis focuses on cosmological mysteries. Through exquisite and extensive observations with the world’s largest telescopes coupled with synthetic universes generated on immense supercomputers, he hunts for the dark side — the dark matter and dark energy that shape the cosmos. With significant discoveries that confront our ideas on the formation and evolution of galaxies, he has published extensively in international journals. His passion for cosmology and physics is reflected in his teaching and student supervision, as well as an extensive outreach program that brings the mysteries of the universe to diverse international audiences.

Pollock Memorial Lectureship 2017

The Pollock Memorial Lectureship for 2017 was awarded to Professor Andrea Morello FAPS FRSN, the Professor of Quantum Nanosystems inthe School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, UNSW Sydney. Professor Morello is an internationally recognised leader in quantum science and technology who has invented and demonstrated all of the fundamental building blocks of a silicon quantum computer, thereby laying the foundations for its practical manufacture.

Year & LecturerYear & Lecturer
1949    T.M. Cherry
1952    H.S.W. Massey
1955    R. vd R. Woolley
1959    Sir Harold Jeffreys
1962    F. Hoyle
1965    F. Seitz
1969    A.R. Sandage
1972    L. Schwartz
1975    J.T. Wilson
1978    R.N. Bracewell
1981    E.E. Salpeter
1984    R.S. Pease
1995    D. Mills
2001    M. Bilek
2006    B. Josephson
2009    B. Schmidt
2013    M. Simmons
2017    A. Morello
2021    G. Lewis



These prestigious awards for excellence in science, technology, philosophy, and the arts, awarded by Australia's oldest learned society, recognise outstanding achievements. The Society's portfolio of awards has been entirely revamped in 2023 to provide greater breadth, to recognise recent and evolving disciplines, and emerging as well as established research stars.  Information about the new structure and portfolio of awards is provided on the main awards page

Winners of the 2023 awards will be announced at the 1318th Ordinary General Meeting of the Society to be held on 29 November 2023 and will be publish on the website shortly thereafter.

Winners of awards in previous years, and information about the awards program prior to 2023, may be found on the Past Awards page of this website.

Nominations for the 2024 Awards will open on 1 July 2024, with information about the new awards and how to apply available from the Awards menu on this website.

Site by
Privacy policy |  Links to other societies
Editor Login
Disclaimer: Positions expressed on this website by authors of publications and
event presenters do not necessarily reflect those of the Society.
The Royal Society of New South Wales acknowledges the traditional custodians
of the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.
All rights reserved. Copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.
ABN: 76 470 896 415


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.