RSNSW Bicentennial Committee


The purpose of the Bicentennial Committee is to lead the development and delivery of the Bicentenary Program of the Society on behalf of Council. The Bicentenary Program is designed to showcase and celebrate the Society's two hundred years of contributions to the people of New South Wales and beyond.

Detailed information about the Committee’s Terms of Reference is available from the preceding link.


The composition of the Bicentennial Committee in 2022–2023 is listed in the table below.

Chair Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN FTSE FAHMS
Secretary Professor Sean Brawley FRSN
Members Ms Wendy Enevoldsen MRSN
Mr John Hardie AM FRSN
Dr Davina Jackson FRSN
Ms Marian Kernahan
Mr Bruce Ramage MRSN (ex officio)

RSNSW Executive Committee


The purpose of the Executive Committee, under Rule 17 of the Society’s Rules, is to deal with any matters referred to it by the Council, and with any matters that concern the Council with regard to which action should not, in the opinion of the Executive Committee, be postponed until the next meeting of the Council. Council has given the responsibility for Foundational Partnerships, Council Performance, and Branch Expansion to the Executive Committee.

Detailed information about the Committee’s Terms of Reference is available from the preceding link.


The composition of the Executive Committee in 2023–2024 is listed in the table below.

Chair Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN FTSE FAHMS (President)
Secretary Dr Donald Hector AM FRSN (Secretary)
Members Emeritus Professor Lindsay Botten FRSN (Council appointee)
Mr Bhavin Raval MRSN (Treasurer)
Emeritus Professor Christina Slade FRSN (Council appointee)
Emeritus Professor Peter Shergold AC FRSN (Vice-President) 

Professor Gordon Parker“Burnout — the hottest issue”

Professor Gordon Parker AO
Scientia Professor of Psychiatry
UNSW (Sydney)

Date: Thursday, 20 May, 6.30pm AEST
Venue: RSL Mittagong (face-to-face)
All are welcome. 

Summary:If constant stress has you feeling helpless, disillusioned and completely exhausted, you may be on the road to burnout. In this lecture, Professor Gordon Parker will discuss what you can do to regain your balance and feel hopeful and positive once again.

Burnout is a state of emotional, physical and mental exhaustion caused by excessive and prolonged stress. It occurs when you feel overwhelmed, emotionally drained and unable to meet constant demands. As the stress continues, you begin to lose interest and motivation that led you to take on a certain role in the first place.

Burnout reduces productivity and saps your energy, leaving you feeling increasingly helpless, hopeless, cynical and resentful. Listen to this lecture by psychiatrist Professor Gordon Parker to hear all about the history of burnout, its key symptoms, who gets it, its causes and prevalence, what happens in the brain and most importantly…how to correct it.

Professor Gordon Parker AO is Scientia Professor of Psychiatry, UNSW, was Founder of the Black Dog Institute and its initial Executive Director, Head of the School of Psychiatry at UNSW, and Director of the Division of Psychiatry at Prince of Wales Hospital. His positions with the Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatrists include being Editor of its Journal. Positions with legal organisations include the NSW Guardianship Board and the NSW Administrative Appeals Tribunal. In 2004 he received a Citation Laureate as the Australian Scientist most highly cited in ‘Psychiatry/Psychology’. In 2018 he received the prestigious James Cook Medal from the Royal Society of New South Wales, and was recipient of the 2020Australian Mental Health Prize. His research has focussed on the mood disorders. He has published 23 books and over 1,000 scientific reports. His first of fiction was published in 1966 and his latest novel (“In Two Minds”) in 2017. In the 60’s, he wrote for The Mavis Bramston Show and OZ Magazine, was an ABC Science broadcaster, a book reviewer for the Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian, and in 2004 had a play (“Personality Games”) produced by La Mama in Melbourne. His autobiography “A Piece of My Mind: A Psychiatrist on the Couch” was published in 2012. His co-authored book on Burnout will be published on 1 July 2021.

RSNSW Awards Committee


The purpose of the Awards Committee is to lead the Society’s Awards Program on behalf of the Council. The Awards Program is designed to recognise excellence and outstanding achievements by one or more individuals, as appropriate through its Medals, Prizes, Scholarships, and other Awards.

Detailed information about the Committee’s Terms of Reference is accessible from the preceding link.

Committee Composition

The composition of the Awards Committee in 2023–2024 is listed in the table below.

Chair Professor Merlin Crossley FRSN
Secretary Emeritus Professor Annabelle Duncan PSM FRSN FTSE
Members Professor Lisa Adkins FRSN
Professor Philip Gale FRSN
Professor Paul Griffiths FRSN FAHA 
Professor Si Ming Man FRSN
Distinguished Professor Belinda Medlyn FRSN
Mr Zile Yu MRSN

Membes iframe test

Site by
Privacy policy |  Links to other societies
Editor Login
Disclaimer: Positions expressed on this website by authors of publications and
event presenters do not necessarily reflect those of the Society.
The Royal Society of New South Wales acknowledges the traditional custodians
of the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.
All rights reserved. Copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.
ABN: 76 470 896 415


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.