Australia Day Honours 2022

Australia Days 2022 Honours The Society is pleased to note the awards in the 2022 Australia Day Honours that have gone to Society Fellows: Members in the Order of Australia to Associate Professor Kristine Barlow-Stewart AM FRSN and  Ms Elizabeth Ann Macgregor AM OBE FRSN.

Professor Barlow-Stewart, who is the Director of the Master of Genetic Counselling at the University of Sydney Medical School, received her honour for significant service to medicine in the field of human genetics, and to education.

Ms Elizabeth Ann Macgregor, who served as the Director of the Museum of Contemporary Art from 1999 to 2021, received her honour for significant service to museums and galleries through leadership roles with arts institutions.

The Council of the Society extends its warmest congratulations to each of those so honoured on Australia Day 2022.  


Vale Dr David Branagan AM FRSN

RSNSW Logo The Royal Society of NSW records with great regret the passing of one of its Past Presidents, Dr David F. Branagan AM FRSN, on 9 January 2022 at the age of 91.

David Branagan was born in Broken Hill in 1930 and combined his love of geology with his equally strong love of singing and choral music, in which he was heavily involved. He was amongst Australia's foremost geologists with an international reputation in the history of geology and geologists in Australasia, a field in which he made outstanding and original contributions for over fifty years. He wrote the authoritative biography of Professor T W Edgeworth David, the famous Antarctic explorer and Professor of Geology at the University of Sydney, and also a former President of the Society. This outstanding work was shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

A long-standing geological educator and academic at the University of Sydney, he is perhaps best known in geological circles for his co-authorship of the standard definitive and comprehensive handbook on the Field Geology of NSW, in conjunction with his colleague Gordon Packham.

Dr Branagan was a steadfast supporter of the Society, exemplified by his commitment to the work conducted by the Society to document and report on its extensive library collection. He was appointed by the Society to work on the National Library of Australia’s Community Heritage Grant project which the Society was awarded in 2006/7. This has formed the basis for much of the work currently being undertaken on the Society’s collection. David very kindly donated a portion of his archives and his comprehensive scientific library to the Society.

Dr Branagan served as President of the Society in 1995 and was awarded the Royal Society of NSW Medal for services to science and the Society in 1998. 

The Council of the Society extends its deep condolences to his family on their sad loss. A memorial service is expected to be held at a later date.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.